The One That You Never Had

It’s 2012, and if you’re above the legal age of drinking in the US, doesn’t it make sense that you should think about that person you know you never had, and possibly, not be able to have in the near future? I’m saying this because you know, the Mayans said that the world will end this year. But ’nuff with all the bullshit these Mayans are saying, let’s get into discussion about the person you never had.

Think about it, it doesn’t necessarily mean that the person you never had was the person you’d want to spend the rest of your life with. It could be a classmate that you thought was just too perfect that time. Or it could be a platonic friend who’s always there for you when you think you’re about take a fall. Or it could be that bartender you always talk to when you’re six drinks in. Say for example, 10 years later, you get to meet this person again after not seeing them for the longest time. Would you still feel the same way that you felt back then? Or are you just going to ruin everything with succumbing to this awkward situation?

See, there’s a big difference between “the one that got away” with “the best you never had”. I’m saying this because it’s two entirely different things.

The one that got away is a person that you had, but never got a chance to spend the rest of your life with even though he or she was supposed to be the one, and still is (or at least the thought of him/her) after all this time. It didn’t necessarily have to end well, just the fact that after all that you two have been through, he/she can still be that one person you end up being with. The best you never had is a person who you never got the chance of having but is still the one in your mind. Both have similarities but should never be handled the same way. I’m not writing this because I want to help you get over that person. I’m writing this to help you figure out what you have, or had, in your life. And I am telling you to not screw it up by screwing your definitions of things.

So an important question comes into play and I would love it if you guys could answer this.

If the time comes that you can have either one of these two people, which one would you choose? The one that got away? Or the best you never had?

You can comment below this post, or you can just tweet me your answer as to which one you’d choose and why. And by God, forgive me, since this is my first time to interact with the readers of my blog. It gets scary, y’know.

DONE.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About mrjuantamad

Have you been reading my shit? Well, no need to fill this up then.

2 responses to “The One That You Never Had”

  1. Reia says :

    I’ll choose… oh this is tough… but prolly “the best I ever had”… I mean “the one that got away” got away for a reason and even if I would want to keep him, I guess it’s best to part ways and leave the things the way it is. But “the best I ever had” I would always wonder how it would feel to have him and keep him forever 🙂

  2. Hey Howw says :

    My twenty-five cents… If it ever comes to a point where you have to choose between the two at that point and lose either one, I’d say choose the best you never had. If you really still love the one that got away, then you would choose her in a heart beat. No choices.

Leave a Reply

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Malikhaing Isipan

ang blog na ito ay para sa mga mag-aaral na kumukuha ng asignaturang Masining na Pagpapahayag sa ilalim ng Bb. Katherine Joy A. Zara.

Melskitty

on music and everyday kitten-hood

